Heal Your Chakras Now

For optimal health and wellbeing you need a healthy chakra system. Learn about the 7 main chakras in your body, how to recognise unbalanced chakras, and how you can heal your chakras yourself using very simple methods.

As discussed in my post The Importance of a Healthy Chakra System, having an unhealthy chakra system is detrimental not only to your physical state, but also to your spiritual, mental and emotional states. This post will give you suggestions on how to return your chakra system to health.

Healing your chakras brings your spiritual, mental, emotional and physical states into harmony and you will find that your life begins to flow much more smoothly.

Balancing and healing the chakras is not something that is performed once only. Our chakras are in an ever-changing state as they send and receive energy from within you, and around you - so regular healing methods must be practised to sustain a healthy chakra system.

Your 7 Chakras

Below is a quick overview of the 7 main chakras of your chakra system so you can become aware of, and sense your chakras as we discuss them.

Base Chakra

Location: Base of spine.

Associated Colour: Red.

Themes: Safety, security, basic earthly needs.

Sacral Chakra

Location: Lower abdomen below the belly button.

Associated Colour: Orange.

Themes: Creativity, sensuality, emotional connection.

Solar Plexus Chakra

Location: Upper abdomen above the belly button.

Associated Colour: Yellow.

Themes: Sense of identity, willpower.

Heart Chakra

Location: Centre of chest in the heart area.

Associated Colour: Green.

Themes: Love, giving and receiving.

Throat Chakra

Location: Base of throat.

Associated Colour: Blue.

Themes: Self expression, communication.

Third Eye Chakra

Location: Centre of forehead.

Associated Colour: Purple.

Themes: Imagination, ideas, creative thinking.

Crown Chakra

Location: Top of head.

Associated Colour: White.

Themes: Spirituality, spiritual connection.

Healing the Chakra System

It is important to remember that even though your chakras are individual energy centres, they are also parts of a whole energetic system. To create a healthy chakra system healing must be given to all chakras, even when trying to correct an imbalance with one.

Here are a few suggestions that combine healing of all chakras within the same exercise. I suggest you choose the method that resonates with you the most and use it daily.


Meditation is my absolutely favourite technique for balancing body, mind and soul in one simple exercise. If you're interested in learning how to meditate you can check out my latest meditation classes here.

Focus your attention on each chakra beginning at the Base and working slowly upward to the Crown. As you sit quietly use all of your extra senses to see, feel, or know what the health of each chakra is. Trust yourself! You know your body best.

As you focus on each chakra notice if it looks bright or dull? Is it small and hard to visualise or sense? Does it feel large and spinning wildly? Do you feel like it’s a bit wonky? Or do you just know that it’s not quite right? The idea is to just notice the state of each, without judgement.

Healthy chakras are the same size, brightly coloured and spinning freely in a clockwise direction. If you noticed any that were not, you may use the techniques below to begin to bring them into balance.


You may use my Chakra Healing Visualisation daily as an overall chakra tonic.


There are specific asanas (yoga poses) that will help balance each of your chakras. You can find a simple chakra balancing sequence here.


We can bring balance to the chakras through sound healing. Crystal singing bowls sound wonderful and they seem to gently massage the chakras with their vibrations. I agree with the idea that frequency + intent = healing. You may also find my Sound Healing article an interesting read.

Vowel Sounds

There are sacred vowel sounds associated with each of the chakras. Chant them while holding the intention of healing your chakras. You can find a powerful sound healing video here from Jonathan Goldman that demonstrates how to use the sacred vowel sounds to heal your chakras.

Energy Healing

Reiki is "spiritually guided life-force energy" given with the intention of healing your body, mind and spirit. It is a beautiful and timeless, non-invasive form of energy healing that can clear, charge and balance your chakras. You can read more about it in my All About Reiki article, or watch my video Reiki Explained. You can book your Reiki Healing session with me here.


The chakr